Crystal Lake Public Library Board of Trustees

Minutes Regular Meeting – May 17, 2017

Call to Order: The Regular Meeting of the Crystal Lake Public Library Board of Trustees was called to order by President Terri Reece at 7:00 pm in the Ames Meeting Room at the Library.

Roll Call:

Present: Chuck Ebann, John Engebretson, Alice Fellers, Carol Heisler, Don Peters, Terri Reece, Monica Szalaj, William Weller

Absent: Ron Eberle

Other: James Becker

Staff Present: Kathryn I. Martens, Library Director; Karen Migaldi, Assistant Director; Nan Goerlitz, Recording Secretary; Cheryl Riendeau, Business Office Manager; Stephanie Price, Public Relations Coordinator; Cynthia Lopuszynski, Head of Adult Services; Penny Ramirez, Head of Technical & Automation Services; Janet Windeguth; Marcia Tillman

Public Comment: none

Board Development: Janet Windeguth and Marcia Tillman presented information about the assistive technology available through the Crystal Lake Public Library.

Reading and approval of minutes: It was moved by Chuck Ebann and seconded by Carol Heisler to approve the minutes of the Regular Meeting of April 19, 2017.

Voice Vote: Aye-6; Nay-0; Absent-1; Abstain-2; Motion Passed.

Consent Agenda: Included in the Consent Agenda were the CLPL Public Relations and Development report ending May 11, 2017, the Library Director's Report for May 2017, the Statistical Report for April 2017, and the Employee Service Recognition Resolution. It was moved by Don Peters and seconded by Chuck Ebann to approve the consent agenda.

Voice Vote: Aye- 8; Nay- 0; Absent- 1; Abstain- 0; Motion Passed.

Committee and Board Member reports:

<u>Planning/PR Committee</u>: The minutes of the May 8, 2017 joint meeting were in the packet.

<u>Friends of the Crystal Lake Library</u>: Alice Fellers updated the Board on the Friends' last meeting, at which time they decided to disband the group.

Approval of Financial Reports: It was moved by Chuck Ebann and seconded by Monica Szalaj to approve the Financial Report for FY 16/17 as of April 30, 2017.

Voice Vote: Aye- 8; Nay- 0; Absent- 1; Abstain- 0; Motion Passed.

Approval of Disbursements: It was moved by John Engebretson and seconded by Don Peters to approve the disbursements in the total amount of \$230,261.15 as follows:

	FY 16/17	FY 17/18	<u>Total</u>
Operating Fund	167,760.28	13,436.13	181,196.41
IMRF/FICA Funds	16,425.13	0.00	16,425.13
Construction & Repair	4,443.51	21,036.56	25,480.07
Gift & Memorial Funds	4,544.54	0.00	4,544.54
Special Reserve Fund	2,615.00	0.00	2,615.00
Grand Total:	195.788.46	34.472.69	230.261.15

Roll Call:

Aye: Chuck Ebann, John Engebretson, Alice Fellers, Carol Heisler, Don

Peters, Terri Reece, Monica Szalaj, William Weller

Nay: none

Absent: Ron Eberle Abstain: none Motion Passed.

Board Action:

A) <u>Technology Plan - approve</u>: It was moved by William Weller and seconded by Chuck Ebann to approve the Technology Plan covering FY 17/18, FY 18/19, and Future.

Voice Vote: Aye- 8; Nay- 0; Absent- 1; Abstain- 0; Motion Passed.

Board Discussion: Carol Heisler reminded everyone of the upcoming Staff Appreciation breakfast on June 2, 2017. Any Board members able to attend and help should arrive at 8:15 am at the Staff Entrance that morning. Carol also advised the Board of her resignation effective July 1, 2017.

Executive Session: It was moved by Chuck Ebann and seconded by William Weller to move into Executive Session for the purposes of discussing personnel [5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1)] and to allow Kathryn I. Martens to remain for the Executive Session at 7:41 pm.

Roll Call:

Aye: Chuck Ebann, John Engebretson, Alice Fellers, Carol Heisler, Don

Peters, Terri Reece, Monica Szalai, William Weller

Nay: none

Absent: Ron Eberle Motion Passed.

The Board came out of Executive Session at 9:24 pm.

It was moved by William Weller and seconded by Don Peters to award the Library Director's salary increase for FY 17/18 to not exceed the consensus amount agreed in Executive Session.

Voice Vote: Aye- 8; Nay- 0; Absent- 1; Abstain- 0; Motion Passed.

Adjournment:

It was moved by John Engebretson and seconded by Don Peters to adjourn.

Voice Vote: Aye- 8; Nay- 0; Absent- 1; Abstain- 0; Motion Passed.

Time: 9:25 pm

Chuck Ebann, Secretary