Crystal Lake Public Library Board of Trustees

Minutes Regular Meeting – June 19, 2013

Call to Order: The Regular Meeting of the Crystal Lake Public Library Board of Trustees was called to order by President John Engebretson at 7:01 pm in the Ames Meeting Room at the Library.

Carol Heisler served as Secretary Pro Tem in William Weller's absence.

Roll Call:

Present: Chuck Ebann, John Engebretson, Alice Fellers, Carol Heisler, Eric Larsen, Don Peters, Terri Reece

Absent: Ron Eberle, William Weller

Staff Present: Kathryn I. Martens, Library Director; Karen Migaldi, Assistant Director; Nan Goerlitz, Recording Secretary; Debbie Brown, Business Manager; Linda Price-Natter, Public Relations Coordinator; Penny Ramirez, Head of Technical & Automation Services; Lauren Rosenthal, Head of Youth Services; Carolyn Bailey, LTA Youth Services; Seanine Brady, LTA Youth Services; Bonnie Jonelis, Librarian Adult Services; Christine Ticknor, Librarian Youth Services; Kimberly Tipton, LTA Adult Services

Citizen Participation: none

Board Development: Carolyn Bailey, Seanine Brady and Christine Ticknor shared the Summer Reading Program performance they took to area schools. Bonnie Jonelis and Kimberly Tipton shared the book talks they presented at the schools.

Approval of Minutes: It was moved by Chuck Ebann and seconded by Don Peters to approve the Minutes of the Regular Meeting of May 15, 2013.

Voice Vote: Aye-7; Nay-0; Absent-2; Abstain-0; Motion Passed.

Committee & Board Member Reports:

<u>Planning/PR Committee</u>: The minutes of the May 13, 2013 and June 10, 2013 meetings were in the packet.

Finance Committee: The minutes of the June 6, 2013 meeting were in the packet.

Approval of Financial Reports: It was moved by Don Peters and seconded by Chuck Ebann to approve the Financial Report for FY 12/13 as of May 31, 2013.

Voice Vote: Aye- 7; Nay- 0; Absent- 2; Abstain- 0; Motion Passed.

Approval of Financial Reports: It was moved by Don Peters and seconded by Chuck Ebann to approve the Financial Report for FY 13/14 as of May 31, 2013.

Voice Vote: Aye- 7; Nay- 0; Absent- 2; Abstain- 0; Motion Passed.

Approval of Disbursements: It was moved by Chuck Ebann and seconded by Eric Larsen to approve the disbursements in the total amount of \$304,199.62 as follows:

| | <u>FY 12/13</u> | <u>FY 13/14</u> | Total |
|------------------|-----------------|-----------------|----------------------|
| Operating Fund | 25,306.13 | 234,017.21 | \$259,3 23.34 |
| IMRF/FICA Funds | 3,221.51 | 27,245.27 | 30,466.78 |
| Construction & | 0.00 | 328.00 | 328.00 |
| Repair | | | |
| Gift & Memorial | 0.00 | 6,774.14 | 6,774.14 |
| Funds | | | |
| Special Reserve | 0.00 | 6,430.36 | 6,430.36 |
| Fund | | | |
| Per Capita Funds | 0.00 | 877.00 | 877.00 |
| Grand Total: | 28,527.64 | 275,671.98 | 304,199.62 |

Roll Call:

Aye: Chuck Ebann, John Engebretson, Alice Fellers, Carol Heisler, Eric Larsen, Don Peters, Terri Reece
Nay: none
Absent: Ron Eberle, William Weller
Motion Passed.

Communications: There were no communication items in the Board packet.

Business:

A) <u>Insurance package – renewal for 13/14</u>: It was moved by Don Peters and seconded by Terri Reece to approve the insurance package renewal for FY 13/14 effective July 8, 2013 with Lamb, Little & Co.

Roll Call:

Aye: Chuck Ebann, John Engebretson, Alice Fellers, Carol Heisler, Eric Larsen, Don Peters, Terri Reece
Nay: none
Absent: Ron Eberle, William Weller
Motion Passed.

B) <u>Nonresident fee – annual review</u>: It was moved by Chuck Ebann and seconded by Don Peters to reaffirm the decision to opt IN on selling Nonresident Cards using the tax bill method for the period 7/1/13-6/30/14.

Voice Vote: Aye- 7; Nay- 0; Absent- 2; Abstain- 0; Motion Passed.

- C) <u>17 McHenry Ave</u>
 - 1. Lease: It was moved by Chuck Ebann and seconded by Don Peters to authorize the Library Board President to sign the lease for 17 McHenry Ave., covering the period 8/1/13-7/31/14, with Mr. and Mrs. John Miller at \$1,495.00/month.

Voice Vote: Aye- 7; Nay- 0; Absent- 2; Abstain- 0; Motion Passed.

2. Property Management agreement: It was moved by Terri Reece and seconded by Chuck Ebann to authorize the Library Board President to sign the Rental Property Management Contract with Re/Max of Barrington covering the period 7/16/13-7/16/14 for the property at 17 McHenry Ave.

Voice Vote: Aye- 7; Nay- 0; Absent- 2; Abstain- 0; Motion Passed.

D) Chuck Loring Seminar

- 1. Recommendations for Board improvements: The Board discussed and agreed upon implementing the five suggestions for improvements.
- 2. Board profile exercise: The Board completed the Profile Worksheet as a group.
- E) <u>Nominating Committee for FY 13/14/ officers</u>: The Nominating Committee was appointed by the Board President: Don Peters, chair; John Engebretson. Elections will be at the July 17, 2013 meeting.

Staff Reports:

Included in the Board packet were 2013 Summer Reading Program statistics, CLPL Media Relations report, the Library Director's report for June 2013, the CLPL Annual Statistical Report for FY 12/13, and the Statistical Reports for May 2013.

Eric Larsen left at 8:31 pm.

Executive Session: It was moved by Chuck Ebann and seconded by Don Peters to move into Executive Session for the purposes of discussing the purchase or lease of real property for the use of the public body [5 ILCS 120/2(c)(5)], the setting of a price for sale or lease of property owned by the public body [5 ILCS 120/2(c)(6)] and to allow Kathryn I. Martens and Karen Migaldi to remain for the Executive Session at 8:32 pm.

Roll Call:

Aye: Chuck Ebann, John Engebretson, Alice Fellers, Carol Heisler, Don Peters, Terri Reece
Nay: none
Absent: Ron Eberle, Eric Larsen, William Weller
Motion Passed.

It was moved by Chuck Ebann and seconded by Don Peters to move out of Executive Session at 8:57 pm.

Roll Call:

Aye: Chuck Ebann, John Engebretson, Alice Fellers, Carol Heisler, Don Peters, Terri Reece
Nay: none
Absent: Ron Eberle, Eric Larsen, William Weller
Motion Passed.

Adjournment:

It was moved by Chuck Ebann and seconded by Don Peters to adjourn.

Voice Vote: Aye- 6; Nay- 0; Absent- 3; Abstain- 0; Motion Passed. Time: 9:07 pm

Carol Heisler, Secretary Pro Tem